Winter Wonderland?

This week I am sharing a listing from London.  Looks are deceiving because, from the exterior shot, you would never guess that this home has seven floors with a swimming pool, steam room, gym, and cinema.  The Master Suite consumes the entire first floor and includes his-and-hers dressing rooms and bathrooms and the home has wonderful outdoor living spaces.  The building was at one time The Red Lion Pub but has been completely gutted and remodeled.  Located on a quiet street in Mayfair it seems to have everything one would need.

 

Originally published in 2010 in O Magazine, this article titled “10 Life Lessons You Should Unlearn” by Martha Beck gives you something to think about and perhaps inspire your New Year’s resolutions.  I think my favorite is Success is the Opposite of Failure.  As Martha reminds us “success is built on failure.”  My goal will be to not worry about failure but rather to just try and learn from the results.

A blog I have been enjoying recently is Smitten Kitchen.  Deb Perleman inspires as she accomplishes what seems to be the impossible, creating delicious dishes from her very tiny New York apartment.  Not only is her food incredible but her style of writing is entertaining and the photography is beautiful.  Following the publishing of her cookbook a while back I heard an interview with her on NPR.  The interview took place in her tiny kitchen; it was charming.  I hope you will check out her blog.

I hope you all stay warm and safe in the days ahead.  We’ve seen some brutal weather come our way and I know other parts of the country have been affected to an even greater extent.  Here is a satellite photo from the Weather Channel showing the blanket of snow covering part of the Midwest and New England areas.   This is an amazing photo.  I think I’ll go make myself a cup of hot chocolate…..