Old Man Marley’s Home for Sale

Property Photo

I remember a while back the home featured in the movie “Home Alone” was sold.  So when I saw this home, pictured above, something about it looked so familiar but at first I couldn’t put my finger on it.  How about you?  Yep, that’s right.  This is the house next door where Old Man Marley lived!  Recently listed in Winnetka for $3.1 million this beautiful home was designed by architect Benjamin Marshall.  His name may not be as familiar as Frank Lloyd Wright or Louis Sullivan but he is responsible for some of Chicago’s iconic buildings including the Drake Hotel and the Blackstone.  He built a home for himself in Wilmette in 1921 that’s main function was to host parties.

Blackstone

His pink stucco 32 room mansion included a tropical garden and an Egyptian solarium.  Unfortunately the home was razed in 1950.  I would love to find more photos of that house!